From offshore to inshore: all the news abouts sea sports from 2000

World Match-Racing Tour

Williams Wins First Tour Event Since 2008

Sunday 26 June 2011Redaction SSS [Source RP]

All the versions of this article: [English] [français]

Ian Williams won his first World Match Racing Tour World Match Racing Tour #WMRT event in three years today sailing to victory at the Portimão Portugal Match Cup. The last time Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar tasted victory was at the Danish Open back in 2008, the same year that he was crowned World Champion for the second consecutive year.

Williams’ victory over Francesco Bruni (ITA) Bruni Racing in Portugal means there has been a different winner in each of the four completed stages of the 2011 Tour which is shaping up to be one of the most hotly contested seasons in recent years.

Williams took down current Tour leader Bruni with two back-to-back wins in a wet and wild Final. The win shoots Team GAC Pindar up the World Match Racing Tour World Match Racing Tour #WMRT standings from tenth to third place, which at the halfway stage of the Tour is a huge boost for the 2007 and 2008 World Champion.

“To win here is a fantastic feeling,” Williams said. “We struggled a bit with some matches and we had some really close calls so to walk away with a win is amazing. Although we have come close to winning events in recent years it has been a few years since we won an event so it’s great to have another one under our belt. It’s a great result for us – now we need a few more.”

- Press info

Results from 2011 Portimão Portugal Match Cup:

  • 1 Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar
  • 2 Francesco Bruni (ITA) Bruni Racing
  • 3 Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team
  • 4 Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Berntsson Sailing Team
  • 5 Torvar Mirsky (AUS)The Wave Muscat

2011 ISAF World Match Racing Tour Standings (after 4 stages):

  • 1 Francesco Bruni (ITA) Bruni Racing – 81pts
  • 2 Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing – 58pts
  • 3 Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar - 46pts
  • 4 Damien Iehl (FRA) French Match Racing Team - 45pts
  • 5 Torvar Mirsky (AUS) The Wave Muscat – 45pts
  • 6 Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team – 43pts
  • 7 Jesper Radich (DEN) Adrian Lee & Partners – 40pts
  • 8 Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Mekonomen Sailing Team – 35pts
  • 9 Phil Robertson (NZL) WAKA Racing – 31pts
  • 10 Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Berntsson Sailing Team - 30pts

Head news