Du grand large à la plage : Toute l’actualité des sports de glisse depuis 2000

St. Francis Yacht Club’s Big Boat Series

Six Perpetual Trophy Winners Named in San Francisco’s Big Boat Series

lundi 20 septembre 2004Redaction SSS [Source RP]

Winners in two IRC classes and seven one-design classes were named this evening at the Big Boat Series presented by Rolex. St. Francis Yacht Club named the six Perpetual Trophy winners, who also received specially engraved Rolex timepieces.

big boats where racing in the bay of San Francisco
Photo Dan Nerney/Rolex

Chris Perkins and Dave Wilson (San Francisco, Calif.) won the Commodore’s Cup, created in 2004 to encourage competition in one-design racing on San Francisco Bay. Perkins and Wilson’s Good Timin’ won the 31-boat J/105 fleet.

James Richardson (Boston, Mass./Newport, R.I.) won the nine-boat Farr 40 class and the Richard Rheem Perpetual Trophy. The trophy was established in 1972 in memory of Richard Rheem, whose famous yacht Morning Star was the elapsed time winner in the 1949 and 1955 Transpac races to Honolulu.

Stephen Madeira (Menlo Park, Calif.) won the Keefe-Kilborn Memorial Trophy, which was established in 1976 to honor Harold Keefe and Ray Kilborn. Madeira ’s Mr. Magoo won the nine-boat J/120 class.

John Siegel (San Francisco, Calif.) won the Atlantic Perpetual Trophy, which was established in 1978 and features the ship’s bell of the yacht Atlantic, long-time Trans-Atlantic Ocean record Record #sailingrecord holder (1905). The bell was donated by John C. "Jack" Morris, and the trophy by Jack H. Feller Jr. Siegel’s Wylie 42 Scorpio won the 16-boat IRC B class.

Nicholas Lykiardopola (London, U.K.) won the St. Francis Perpetual Trophy, which was established to stimulate and encourage competition among large ocean racing yachts. Sturgeon’s AERA, a Kerr-55, won the seven-boat IRC A class. The trophy has been awarded annually since the inception of the Big Boat Series 40 years ago to yachts invited to a race or series of races that are measured and handicapped in accordance with the current measurement rule and rate 40 feet or more. This trophy was donated in 1964 by Commodore A. L. Sandy McCormick.

Makoto Uematsu (Tokyo, Japan) won the City of San Francisco Trophy, which is one of the two golden spades used to break ground for the Golden Gate Bridge in 1933. His Esmeralda won the nine-boat TP52 class.

In the remaining classes, White Fang, the Beneteau 40.7 owned by Mark Howe (Richmond, Calif.) won the six-boat class. The winner of the five-boat Santa Cruz 52 class was Thomas Sanborn (Oakland, Calif.). And Golden Moon, owned by Kame Richards and Bill Bridge, won the nine-boat Express 37 class.

Info Dana Paxton / Media Pro Int’l

Spectators watch the J/105 fleet racing downwind from the race deck at the St. Francis Yacht Club.
Photo Dan Nerney/Rolex

Voir en ligne : Full results and additional information on the Big Boat Series presented by Rolex, online at

Results - Big Boat Series presented by Rolex - Final (seven races total in series)

Place, Owner, Hometown, Boat Name, Boat Type, Race 1-2-3-4-5-6-7, Total points

IRC Class A (7 boats)
- 1. Nicholas Lykiardopulo, Athens, Greece, AERA, Kerr 55, 1-1-1-1-2-1-1, 8
- 2. Robert Youngjohns, Woodside, Calif., Zephyra, DK46, 2-2-2-3-3-2-3, 17
- 3. Ed McDonnell, Kilauea, Hawaii, Grand Illusion, SC70, 6-3-4-2-6-4-2,s 27

IRC Class B (16 boats)
- 1. John Siegel, San Francisco, Calif., Scorpio, Wylie 42, 4-1-1-1-2-2-2, 13
- 2. Jeff Pulford, Corral de Tierra, Calif., Bustin Loose, Sydney 38, 3-3-2-4-1-3-3, 19
- 3. French/ Lezin, Santa Cruz, Animal, Sydney 38, 1-4-4-2-4-1-4, 20

SC52 Class (5 boats)
- 1. Tom Sanborn, Oakland, Calif., City Lights, 2-1-1-1-2-1-2, 10
- 2. Martin Brauns, Los Altos Hills, Calif., Winnetou, 1-2-2-2-1-2-1, 11
- 3. Skip Ely, La Selva Beach, Calif., Elyxir, 3-4-3-3-4-4-3, 24

TP52 Class (9 boats)
- 1. Makoto Uematsu, Tokyo, Japan, Esmeralda, 1-2-1-1-1-1-1, 8
- 2. Karl C. Kwok, Hong Kong, China, Beau Geste, 2-1-4-2-3-2-4, 18
- 3. Roger Sturgeon, Fort Lauderdale, Calif., 3-6-2-3-4-5-5, 28

Farr 40 (9 boats)
- 1. James Richardson, Boston, Mass./Newport, R.I., Barking Mad, 1-3-1-1-1-4-1, 12
- 2. Chuck Parrish, Hillsborough, Calif, Slingshot, 2-2-2-7-2-1-5, 21
- 3. Steve & Fred Howe, San Diego, Calif., Warpath , 9-1-3-3-6-3-2, 27

Express 37 (9 boats)
- 1. Kame Richards/ Bill Bridge, Alameda, Calif., Golden Moon, 2-1-1-6-4-3, 19
- 2. Mick Shlens, Palos Verdes Estates, Calif., Blade Runner, 1-4-5-3-1-7-2, 23
- 3. Bartz Schneider, Expeditions, Crystal Bay, Nev., 5-2-2-5-5-6-1, 26

J/120 (9 boats)
- 1. Stephen Madeira, Menlo Park, Calif., Mr. Magoo, 1-1-5-1-6-3-7, 24
- 2. Barry Lewis, Atherton, Calif., Chance, 6-6-9-3-1-2-3, 30
- 3. Rick Wesslund, Tiburon, Calif., El Ocaso, 3-7-8-4-3-1-5, 31

J/105 (31 boats)
- 1. Chris Perkins/Dave Wilson, San Francisco, Good Timin’, 4-1-2-3-1-2-1, 14
- 2. Tim Russell, Novato, Calif., Aquavit, 2-2-3-2-9-3-6, 27
- 3. Thomas Coates, San Francisco, Charade, 3-3-5-4-5-4-14, 38

Beneteau 40.7 (6 boats)
- 1. Mark Howe, Richmond, Calif., White Fang, 1-3-2-2-3-2-2, 15
- 2. Mike Garl, San Carlos, Calif., White Dove, 7-7-1-1-1-1-1, 19
- 3. Joel Davis, Alameda, Calif., Shaddy Daddy, 2-2-3-5-2-5-7, 26

A la une